The NASA CT Space Grant Consortium has awarded scholarships to five Connecticut Community College students in recognition of their academic goals and achievements.

Each student will receive $1,500 for study at their respective community colleges. To qualify, students must be attending a CT SGC affiliate institution full-time, pursuing a career in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM), and maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0.

“I would like to congratulate these students for their achievement and wish them continued success in their college careers and future pursuits in the STEM field,” said Dr. James Lombella, President of Asnuntuck Community College and Interim President of Tunxis Community College, who leads the Connecticut College of Technology, which includes the 12 Connecticut Community Colleges and provides access to membership in the NASA CT Space Grant Consortium.

The NASA CT Space Grant Consortium Community College Scholarship recipients are:

Kevin Armstrong

Capital Community College


Amanda Guglielmo

Naugatuck Community College


Giselle Koo

Tunxis Community College


Michael Koutoumbas

Norwalk Community College


Heidi Pokorny

Asnuntuck Community College


NASA CT Space Grant Consortium is a federally mandated grant, internship and scholarship program that is funded as part of NASA Education to encourage broader participation in NASA research programs. The program’s main focus is to build a research infrastructure in Connecticut which supports the aerospace, space science, engineering and technology related initiatives of federal and state government and private industry. There are Space Grant Consortia in all 50 states, plus Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico.

The College of Technology is an agreement among Connecticut’s community colleges and partner universities to provide seamless career pathways for students to earn certificates, associate of science and bachelor of science degrees in engineering and technology disciplines, with no loss of credit upon transfer. For more information on the College of Technology, contact Karen Wosczyna-Birch at 860.723.0608, or

Donation To Children's Reading RoomPresident Mark Ojakian