Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has selected 30 chapter advisors, advisors emeriti and alumni to serve as Faculty Scholars and lead groups of students and advisors at the 2018 and 2019 Honors Institutes.

Faculty Scholars serve as seminar leaders during Honors Institute, Phi Theta Kappa’s annual summer conference held on a four-year college campus. The event brings nearly 500 associate degree-seeking students and PTK chapter advisors together for a week each June. The 2018 Honors Institute will be held at Villanova University in Pennsylvania.

For the first time, Honors Institute will focus on Phi Theta Kappa’s Leadership Development curriculum. Faculty Scholars will be certified to lead the curriculum, which has been hailed by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation as one of eight exemplary leadership development programs in the country.

Among those serving as Faculty Scholars are members of PTK’s Honors Program Council. This group of volunteer chapter advisors develops the Society’s Honors Study Topic, which serves as the focus of Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors in Action program. Honors in Action guides chapters in a research-based, action-oriented project on their campuses and in their communities.

The 2018/2019 Honors Study Topic is Transformations: Acknowledging, Assessing, and Achieving Change.

The Faculty Scholars are: (* indicates Honors Program Council members)

Sal Addotta, Santa Ana College, California
Dr. Sara Banfield, Raritan Valley Community College, New Jersey
Heidi Boring, McHenry County College, Illinois
Madelyn Bowman, Tarrant County College, South Campus, Texas
Michelle Coach, Asnuntuck Community College, Connecticut
Barbara Ebert, Alumna, Virginia
Dr. Melissa Fulgham, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas* 
Angie Goldszmidt, Bergen Community College, New Jersey
Rahul Kane, Century College, Minnesota
Dr. Patty Hall, Cañada College, California* 
Vicky Knickerbocker, Inver Hills Community College, Minnesota
Connie Lamarca-Frankel, Pasco-Hernando State College, Florida
Ryan Martin, Paradise Valley Community College, Arizona 
Charles Myrick, Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma
Patrick Nevins, Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus, Indiana 
Necia Nicholas, Calhoun Community College, Alabama 
Jackie Pierce, Lake-Sumter State College, Florida 
Cassandra Powell, Harry S. Truman College, Illinois*
Julie Rancilio, Kapi’olani Community College, Hawaii
Lara Roemer, Carl Sandburg Community College, Illinois*
Glenn Rohlfing, Pikes Peak Community College, Colorado*
Dan Rooney, Western Technical College, Wisconsin 
Richard Rouillard, Advisor Emeritus, Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma
Steve Schroeder, College of DuPage, Illinois
Lynnae Selberg, Grand Rapids Community College, Michigan
Chris Solomon, Trident Technical College, South Carolina*
Mitch Stimers, Cloud County Community College, Kansas
Jon Wood, Ridgewater College, Minnesota
Mary Ellen Young, Texarkana College, Texas 
Pepe Zerda, Alumna, South Carolina