Asnuntuck Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa students, an advisor and the college’s Alpha Lambda Zeta chapter all received awards at the Phi Theta Kappa Catalyst 2018 International Convention. It was held April 19-21, 2018 in Kansas City, MO.

Interim Dean of Academic Affairs Michelle Coach, who serves as an advisor for Asnuntuck’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, and is the New England Regional Coordinator for Phi Theta Kappa, was also elected to the ACA Secretary for Division 1 position, during the convention, and received a Distinguished Advisor Award.

Asnuntuck’s Alpha Lambda Zeta chapter earned three national awards during the convention, the only New England Chapter to garner individual chapter awards. The chapter received Distinguished Chapter, Distinguished Theme Award Honors in Action, and one for a Distinguished Honors in Action Project. ACC’s Chapter is one of  PTK’s top 35 Chapters. The New England Region earned a Region Award for their College Completion project.

ACC student Victoria Orifice received recognition on stage, alongside her peers from across the country, as member of the 2018 Coca-Cola Academic Team. ACC’s Alicia Mollison received a Distinguished Chapter Officer award and, Johanna Connors received a Distinguished Regional Officer for New England award.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges. The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders. The society has a membership of 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in ten nations. Approximately 4,500 people attended the recent convention.

For more information, visit:

To learn more about Asnuntuck, visit


Asnuntuck Community College’s Alpha Lambda Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) received three international awards during PTK’s International Convention in Kansas City, MO. Individual students from the college, also received awards. Attending the Convention, from left to right were, ACC members Madison Beckett, Victoria Orifice, Johanna Connors, Dee Chamberlain, Advisor Heather D’Orlando, Advisor Thayre Trzepacz, Advisor Michelle Coach and member Alicia Mollison. See additional photos on Asnuntuck’s Facebook page. Photo by Julie Cotnoir