Thirty-one high-achieving students from Connecticut’s 12 community colleges have been named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Connecticut Academic Team, and, for the first time, will each be awarded a $160 scholarship by the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) Foundation.

The 2019-20 All CT-Academic Team includes Asnuntuck students  Ethan Gregoire (left), and Lizeth (Monica) Lamberti (right).

“These 31 students are not only the top scholars among Connecticut’s community colleges, but leaders ready to step up for the next generation,” said CSCU President Mark Ojakian. “This recognition is an outstanding achievement and the result of hard work, dedication and commitment.  We are very proud of our students as they continue their education or begin careers in their chosen professions, well-prepared to meet the evolving demands of the state’s workforce.”

Sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa — the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs — the All-Connecticut Academic Team is one of the All-USA Community College qualifying teams. This honor recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership and service beyond the classroom.

Each student is earning an associate degree, maintains a 3.5 GPA or higher and is involved in campus activities. The All-CT Academic Team state coordinator is Todd Bryda, professor of history at Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC). PTK co-advisors are NCCC Professors Sharon Gusky and Crystal Wiggins.

CSCU Foundation President Helen G. Sneed, said the foundation is excited to recognize these students with scholarships as they develop into leaders and grow their careers.

“It is with great pride and a heart full of hope that I share in the excitement of an unanimously approved scholarship in support of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at our statewide community colleges,” Sneed said. “PTK has helped millions of high-achieving college students dream, grow and reach their full potential.”